Training

Improve your literature searching skills at the Library. Some charges may apply.

Nursing & Allied Health Resources

Tutorial: 1.5 hours

  • Design a simple search strategy
  • Choose suitable subject headings and subheadings
  • Refine your results
  • Print, email or save results
  • Save a search strategy

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Thursday 21 February, 2:00 pm
    • Tuesday 12 March, 12:00 pm
    • Friday 12 April, 10:00 am
    • Tuesday 14 May, 2:00 pm
    • Monday 24 June, 2:00 pm

Cochrane Library

Tutorial duration: 1 hour

  • What is The Cochrane Library?
  • Search using keywords and MeSH
  • View search results
  • Save search history

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Monday 4 March, 10:00 am
    • Wednesday 17 April, 10:30 am
    • Thursday 9 May, 2:30 pm
    • Friday 14 June, 9:00 am

EndNote

Bibliographic management software that allows you to: organise references, images, PDFs and other files in a library; and insert citations directly into your document using Cite While You Write.

Borrow an EndNote disk from the Library and install it at work or home, or both; ask at the front desk (RCH staff only). MCRI staff and students should contact MCRI IT to have EndNote installed. Melbourne Uni staff and students can download EndNote from the Uni's website

Tutorial 1: 1.5 hours

Level: Beginner

  • View and navigate an EndNote Library
  • Import citations into EndNote from various databases
  • Change EndNote preferences
  • Use online search and find PDFs

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Monday 11 February, 10:00 am
    • Friday 15 March, 10:00 am
    • Wednesday 17 April, 1:00 pm
    • Thursday 23 May, 2:00 pm
    • Monday 24 June, 10:00 am

Tutorial 2: 1.5 hours

Level: Intermediate
Prerequisite: EndNote Tutorial 1

  • Attach files to your EndNote references
  • Generate a bibliography of EndNote citations
  • Insert citations from EndNote libraries while writing a paper with MS Word
  • Edit citations and understand field codes

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Monday 18 February, 10:00 am
    • Friday 22 March, 10:00 am
    • Wednesday 24 Apr, 1:00 pm
    • Thursday 30 May, 2:00 pm
    • Monday 1 July, 10:00 am

Demonstration: 2 hours

Level: Beginner - Intermediate
Prerequisite: No special preparation required; this is not a hands-on session

Includes all topics covered in EndNote Tutorials 1 & 2 in a demonstration format.

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Wednesday 20 March, 4:00 pm
    • Wednesday 29 May, 8:00 am

Finding the Evidence

Searching Evidence-based practice resources. Useful for the busy practitioner. Find quick answers to your questions!

Tutorial: 1 hour

  • Use PICOT and Boolean algebra to develop a search strategy
  • Develop an awareness of Evidence-based practice resources
  • Search a variety of Evidence-based practice resources

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Tuesday 5 March, 10:00 am
    • Tuesday 23 April, 9:30 am
    • Friday 24 May, 10:00 am
    • Thursday 27 June, 2:00 pm

Introduction to the Library

Work better, work faster. Find the information you need right now! Enjoy a demonstration of how the Library can work for you, in a casual, friendly environment.

Demonstration: 45 minutes

  • Tour the Library website; learn what resources are available and how to access them
  • Find journals and download articles
  • Learn about off-site access
  • See how to order items via Document Delivery

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Tuesday 19 February, 12:15 pm
    • Monday 25 March, 12:00 pm
    • Wednesday 1 May, 9:15 am
    • Friday 31 May, 12:00 pm
    • Thursday 27 June, 10:00 am

Ovid Medline

This tutorial is also suitable for users of Ovid's Embase.

Tutorial: 2 hours

  • Design a simple search strategy
  • Choose suitable subject headings and subheadings
  • Use Explode and Focus
  • Use Limits to reduce results
  • Save a search strategy
  • Print, email or save results

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Wednesday 13 February, 10:00 am
    • Monday 4 March, 12:00 pm
    • Tuesday 26 March, 10:00 am
    • Thursday 18 April, 11:00 am
    • Wednesday 15 May, 2:30 pm
    • Friday 14 June, 10:30 am

PubMed

Tutorial: 1.5 hours

  • Search using thesaurus (MeSH)
  • Combine search lines
  • Limit search to reduce results
  • Save search

Session times

  • Semester 1, 2019
    • Wednesday 27 February, 8:00 am
    • Monday 25 March, 10:00 am
    • Tuesday 23 April, 1:00 pm
    • Friday 24 May, 8:00 am
    • Wednesday 19 June, 10:00 am

Other Library training by arrangement

Contact us to discuss your training needs.

Sessions include:

  • Individual help with literature searching
  • Group training sessions in your department
  • Introduction to MIMS Online

Online training

EBSCO training
Select a session title and follow the registration instructions to join a webinar. See the full schedule, or access previously recorded sessions. Recommended sessions are Search, Filter, Find: an introduction to EBSCOhost and Advanced Searching in CINAHL.
EndNote
See the EndNote Guide tip sheets from the University of Canterbury, NZ; help guides from the University of Queensland; or the EndNote YouTube channel.
Ovid video tutorials
Ovid support offers training sessions in several formats: WebEx live (where you can register to attend live sessions at local times), WebEx recordings of previous live sessions, and online video presentations. Recommended videos are Ovid Advanced Search (22 mins), Creating AutoAlerts and eTOCs (30 min), Advanced techniques in Embase (14 min), PsycInfo (30 min).
Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine
A self-paced introduction to the process of EBM. From the Duke University Medical Center Library, and the Health Sciences Library at University of North Carolina.

About Library training

Sessions can be booked for small groups from one department to train together, or for individuals in open sessions.

Download our 3-fold brochure (2 pages), or pick one up at the Library.

Training brochure